top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmily C. Burger

Spirit



Some horses are too wild to tame.


I thought perhaps that if I was gentle with you, if I waited long enough for you to see my love for you, you would come to love me too.


I would use no ropes, no chains, no fences. I would simply reach out my arm and you would approach, drawn by something stronger than steel.


Your wild heart, after all, was beautiful, and I would never want to beat that out of you.


But I see now that the very essence of your free spirit means that coming to me is not in your nature, for your nature is not to be tamed. Should I stretch out my arm you would never see it. You're too busy chasing the winds and racing the birds.


So I will have to forever admire you from a distance, unseen and unknown. For your wild spirit is too precious to me to ever try to capture.


11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page