top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmily C. Burger

The Greatest Gift



Just when I thought I'd found a box for you,

With a silver ribbon and clear label too,

I realise that nothing will ever contain,

The beauty and majesty of your name.


If the echoes of the moonbeams,

If the rushing river waves,

If the fire in a heartbeat,

Can't grasp the love you gave,

How could I ever capture just who you are to me? Oh to wrap you up in paper Is to count infinity. If the rising sun is speechless, If the morning dew but weeps, If the burning stars are clueless, How could I box a soul so deep? My labels, my sticky tape, The wrapping paper that always breaks, It never surrounds you, It's never complete, My cardboard and glitter just can't take the heat. So I give up the challenge, Let the labels fall away, Distracted no longer by what I should say, Just free to receive you, To feel your embrace, To bask in the sunshine, Of your loving face.







https://www.mosaiekmagazine.com/blog-1/the-greatest-gift




10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Spirit

bottom of page