top of page
  • Writer's pictureEmily C. Burger

The Dance


We are leaves falling, You and I, Bound by nature, Bound by time.


We fall from the tree, You and me, Floating in the wind, Dancing in the breeze.


Twisting and turning together, Who knows how long we’ll get to dance, In this space between the ground and the branch?


I’ve danced with others But the wind pulled me away, Pushed me here, To dance with you.


I fear the wind That could take you away at any moment.

So I watch every wrinkle, Every shade of orange and red, Every flicker of the sun, Every step of this dance, So that one day, When I’m dancing with others, A little closer to the ground, A little farther from the tree, I won’t forget you. Will you forget me?

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Spirit

bottom of page